Bigger and better: Goal Nigeria Player of the Year 2015

Goal announces the commencement of the biggest individual award in Nigerian football as voted for by the website's readers
Every December since 2012 we have invited our esteemed readers to select their Goal Nigeria Player of the Year.
Goal Nigeria Player of the Year 2015: Meet the Contenders
This year we are back, bigger and better. Instead of the traditional five players, the Goal Nigeria Editorial Board has expanded the field to 10 players for the first time.
We believe that even though just one player will walk away with the trophy, more players deserve to be recognized for their efforts throughout the season.
What a topsy-turvy year we have had in Nigerian football.
First we watched Africa’s best 16 teams fight for the continental trophy on our television screens in January after the Super Eagles failed to reach Equatorial Guinea.
It was a big low for the defending champions.
Then we saw the team change management and begin the hard climb back to confidence and relevance.
The Super Eagles ended the year in 66th place in the Fifa Rankings, their lowest since 1999. Along with their decline, we saw the international retirement of key players Vincent Enyeama and Emmanuel Emenike.

Will former winner Vincent Enyeama still be in the running after a troubled year?
However, we have seen the emergence of new talents like Odion Ighalo, Carl Ikeme and Simon Moses through all the tribulations.
Equally, a few names have cemented their leadership roles in the team like Ahmed Musa and Ogenyi Onazi.
Which of these familiar faces and emerging stars will make the ten-man shortlist for the Goal Nigeria Player of the Year award?
One high point for the year was the home-based Super Eagles' qualification for the African Nations Championship 2016. Don't be surprised to see one or two members of that squad make our shortlist.
On the domestic scene, Enyimba won a record seventh league title with some eye-catching football as they showed their tenacity in a very competitive season.
In the last three editions, Goal readers have chosen the most deserving player for the Goal Nigeria Player of the Year.

Who will follow in Mikel's footsteps as Nigeria's finest?
In 2015, we invite you to once again participate in determining the recipient of our biggest accolade.
As we unveil the nominees carefully chosen by the Editorial Board, we look forward to the journey of selecting the player that will join the illustrious duo of John Obi Mikel and Vincent Enyeama in the Goal Nigeria Player of the Year pantheon.
Voting will commence once the nominees have been unveiled and will last till December 28.
The winner of the 2015 Goal Nigeria Player of the Year will be announced on January 4, 2016. What an amazing New Year’s gift it will be!